Losing weight by doing seemingly insignificant things

Don’t worry, losing weight is not as tough as this!

Okay, so some of you might have found the last post on martial arts a bit… hard to relate to. SO for today’s post, I’ve decided to base it on the topic of losing weight (which I’m sure would be more relevant to you than my previous topic).

You see, my dear friends, from the time since I can remember; I have always been the ‘fat kid’ in class. Every year in school, they’ll have an annual health check-up where your height and weight is measured. Of course, once measurements were taken down and glanced at, I would be placed in the “Overweight” category.

I didn’t have to worry about enlisting into any Co-curricular activities as I would be automatically enrolled in the Trim and Fit club (TAF club), which is basically FAT spelled backwards. Every morning before assembly, I would be forced to run 2.4km and sometimes made to stay back after school for more intensive exercise. It was never fun and and the worse part, it wasn’t effective at all. 3 months into the program and I was still the fat kid in class. Still overweight and above that number, that proved that I was a healthy kid. 3 months of torture and nothing to show for it. I couldn’t do a single pull up nor pass the 2.4km timing.

From flab to fab

1072093_10151537345878616_1053441603_o1012812_10153830487295001_344504579_n

Fat ass today, fit guy tomorrow!

About 6 months ago, I made a resolve to lose weight (again). I haven’t got a six pack before and this time round I was determined to achieve that elusive goal. It wasn’t so much for aesthetic reasons besides proving to myself that I could do it once I put my heart and soul into it. As such, I began my own journey which started with little steps.

One of the first things I did when I decided to lose weight was to restrict myself from eating too much. Food was the key reason to why I was unable to lose weight in the past despite exercising regularly. Being in a traditional Cantonese family, every dinner would be 1 huge serving of rice rice served with 2 meats, 1 veggie and 1 soup. With the already huge portions, it certainly didn’t help that all the dishes were so yummy! Usually, for every dinner, I would try finishing all the food and at the end of it, be so full that I could hardly move! Even after eating so much, my parents would then force me to eat fruits. Not forgetting that sometimes, there was dessert. Ice creams were certainly my favorite and I would have extra portions of it. How was I supposed to lose weight if I kept to the menu my loving parents had created for me (without realizing its detriments)?

Food

So, I started off by making small changes.

  1. I started eating less rice.

  2. When I wanted to eat more (despite feeling slightly full), I would stop and excuse myself from the dinner table.

  3. I would restrict myself to having desserts once a week.

Though small steps indeed, all these helped me cut my calorie intake drastically. When I was out with my friends, I would choose food that were healthier and (maybe) excused myself from desserts (or just share it with someone so that I have a smaller portion).

Exercise

In the past, I would cap my exercise routines to about twice a week (Friday: Taekwondo and Saturday: Muay Thai). This time, I started exercising more. Every week, I would spend two more days running (30mins) at the park below my block. When I knew I would have meetings or parties that would disrupt my training schedule, I made adjustments to my training schedule so that I don’t miss the exercises.

It wasn’t much – just some small adjustments to my routines and habits. Before long, results were starting to show.

I made more drastic changes to my training schedule. I lost about 2kg in one month. I was pleased with the result and it encouraged me to work harder.

I was about 69kg when I first started and am 63.3kg now. My 4 packs are starting to show. I’m still keeping to the fundamental routines I’ve adopted and I know that I have to continue to work even harder rather than taking this small success for granted!

Like I have said in the previous post and say again unashamedly today, success often starts with the seemingly insignificant things we choose to do. For me to lose weight, I started off with seemingly insignificant habits like learning to stop eating once I was full (Wow! Mind blown!).

In my pursuit of martial arts, I stretch daily. Even virtuoso musicians begin with practicing scales. To be accomplished, we have to start with the seemingly insignificant actions.

How about our life as a Christian?

If we want to grow in spiritual maturity, we must start off with fundamental spiritual disciplines like quiet time, reflection and prayer. I often remember the story of how the boy David was able to defeat a giant like Goliath.

1 Sam 17

33 And Saul said to David, “You are not able to go against this Philistine to fight with him, for you are but a youth, and he has been a man of war from his youth.” 34 But David said to Saul, “Your servant used to keep sheep for his father. And when there came a lion, or a bear, and took a lamb from the flock, 35 I went after him and struck him and delivered it out of his mouth. And if he arose against me, I caught him by his beard and struck him and killed him. 36 Your servant has struck down both lions and bears, and this uncircumcised Philistine shall be like one of them, for he has defied the armies of the living God.” 37 And David said, “The Lord who delivered me from the paw of the lion and from the paw of the bear will deliver me from the hand of this Philistine.” And Saul said to David, “Go, and the Lord be with you!”

48 When the Philistine arose and came and drew near to meet David, David ran quickly toward the battle line to meet the Philistine. 49 And David put his hand in his bag and took out a stone and slung it and struck the Philistine on his forehead. The stone sank into his forehead, and he fell on his face to the ground.

We often remember the glorious scene where David fling a stone using a slingshot and kill Goliath but we forget how God has been preparing him prior to this epic battle. When David was still working as a shepherd boy, he did seemingly insignificant things, faithfully tending to the sheep and protecting them from danger. However, it is through this that he learnt how to fight against wild animals and trust in God for protection. He used these lessons learnt in the end to defeat the mighty Goliath.

So then, do you want to achieve greater things in life? It doesn’t have to be something drastic that you do. Let’s start with faithfully doing the seemingly small and insignificant actions!

This entry was posted in Health and fitness, Popular Posts and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Losing weight by doing seemingly insignificant things

  1. strengthnspirit says:

    Reblogged this on Strength and Spirit.

Leave a Reply

