New training program?

Sorry, I have been quite lazy to blog lately but don’t worry, I am still keeping up with my exercise routines. 😉 However, the exercise routines has been getting mundane and the Runkeeper app isn’t helping.

As I have signed up the sub 65min 10km program with the app, the app has been pushing me to run longer and longer distances. Unfortunately, I feel that the intensity is far too great. According to the Runkeeper training schedule, I am supposed to run 4 times a week with each run reaching at least 10km. That is insane and I do not have that kind of time as work has been mounting up. Hence, for the past 2 weeks I have been changing my training routine.

Instead of running long distances, I have swapped some of the jogging training to 2.4km runs. During this 2.4km, I will have to run as fast as I could like the Individual Physical Proficiency Test (IPPT). For those of you who don’t know what an IPPT is, it is basically a test that the Singapore army has devised to measure the physical fitness of a soldier. All able-bodied Singaporean men are required to take this test once per year. If you fail the test, the army will conduct Remedial Trainings (usually during weekends) to train up your physical fitness (lots of time burned).

IpptRunning is my worst station

Although for 2.4km runs, it is a shorter distance, it can feel a lot tougher as you are running against time. For the record, I haven’t been able to pass (get a D grade) until I went for my national service and I believe I only passed the running when I was in the army for the first three months. So, for the past few days I have been running 2.4km and I think my training is showing good progress.

1148837_10154162599845001_269499855_n

Less distance, more sweat

April 2014 run timing

Yay! I passed the running! T.T

Although there are some days where I really don’t feel like exercising especially when there’s so much work mounting up, it is this little taste of success that makes me carry on. I shall be disciplined and continue training! Hope that I can find greater motivations soon!

This entry was posted in Health and fitness and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

