SPARTAN RACE Prep DAY 26 (Muay thai- bringing a bottle makes a big difference! : LIFE GIVING WATER!)

014SG50 water bottle from MOE

Today’s Muay Thai training was okay. We learnt how to fake punches and did some pad work and the usual conditioning drills after each pad work:

50 punches
20 roundhouses
2 sets

Anyway, ever since I lost my Nike run bottle, I never brought a bottle with me when I go for my Muay Thai classes. Usually, I either didn’t bother to get my spare bottle or I have totally forgotten about it. Every time after finishing  Muay Thai class, I would be totally dehydrated and very thirsty. I could either buy a drink at the gym (which I don’t usually do because I am a cheapskate) or I would travel all the way home to get my drink.

A few days ago, I got a new bottle from MOE. The bottle is quite handy and I brought the bottle for my Muay Thai session today and it made a HUGE DIFFERENCE. DUH! Usually I would be very thirsty in between rounds and I had to tolerate the thirst. This time round, I can get to my bottle for some much needed water. It is really a super satisfying feeling when you are so thirsty and you have water to quench your thirst! And of course, after being very much refreshed by the drink, I was able to continue the rest of my rounds with more vigor.

This little incident reminded me of an imagery in Psalm 23:1 -3

The Lord is my shepherd; I shall not want.
    He makes me lie down in green pastures.
He leads me beside still waters.[a]
    He restores my soul.
He leads me in paths of righteousness[b]
    for his name’s sake.

A lot of time, I guess I am like a lamb, thirsty for water. And my Lord satisfies me by bringing me to a quiet water source and I am refreshed! My soul is restored!

However, no matter how much I have drunk from my bottle, I will surely thirst again. But Jesus promises in John 4: 13 -14

13 Jesus said to her, “Everyone who drinks of this water will be thirsty again, 14 but whoever drinks of the water that I will give him will never be thirsty again. The water that I will give him will become in him a spring of water welling up to eternal life.”

As satisfying it might be to drink ice cold water when you are thirsty, very soon you will be thirsty again. How can my soul be quenched of its thirst forever? Only can Jesus quench it! The ice cold water I drink physically can never be compared to the living water Jesus gives!

This entry was posted in Health and fitness and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

