S.M.A.R.T. goals for weight loss

474057_10150944582168261_2121901467_o1653544_10153931147775001_1269111881_n

From fat to fit with SMART goals (unknowingly)

Honestly when I first started my weight loss endeavour, I never knew what SMART goals were, I hope I did. I only came across it recently when I taught my class about it during Citizenry and Civics Education (CCE). After going through the lesson with my students, I realised that I have applied it’s principle to my life.

SMART is an abbreviation for Specific, Measurable, Achievable, Results-focused and Time bound.

Specific

When you set a goal. It should be specific so that you clearly define what you want to achieve. This is important because if you clearly define your goals, you will have a clearer action plan later on what needs to be done to achieve your goal.

For me, when I started my decision to lose weight, my goal was to be able to run 2.4km in less than 12mins.Goal such as ‘I want to be fit’ are too vague since how ‘fit’ are you is subjective.

Measurable

The goal that I have set is also easily measurable since I can easily strap a phone with me when I run and it helps me to time my runs. Measurable goals are important since tracking your progress is one great motivator. Without a measurable outcome, it is impossible to track your progress and you will never get a feel of how far or near you are to your goal. As a result, it becomes easy to lose focus.

Achievable

The goal you set must also be realistic and achievable. They should stretch you just enough so that you feel challenged. If you set unrealistic goals, you may lose motivation and confidence when you realise that it is too challenging.

For myself, running 2.4km below 12min is achievable while a bit challenging. But I know I can do it since I have completed a 2.4km run in 11:45min during national service. It requires one to me honest with oneself to know whether a goal set is realistic and achievable.

Results-focused

Since I was able to strap phone with me when I run and it helps me to time my runs, I can easily track my results for each run and make adjustments to my training plan each time.

Time-bound

Goals need to be linked to a time frame that  create urgency. Why is it that most new year resolutions fail? It’s because they are not time-bound. Every one wants to do this and that for their resolution but never mention by when. As a result, they do not feel the urgency to accomplish these goals and as time goes by, they forget about them.

How do I ensure that I accomplish my goal on time? Well, for runs, sometimes I sign up for a run. This forces me to be diligent in my training in preparing for a race.

As I try to accomplish my goal, I became more diligent in my running and training. I became more aware of what I eat and after some time, I lost weight and here I am today. The whole process took me about 3-6 months.

New Goal

This time, I have signed up for the Spartan Race. It is a 5km race so running is not the only thing I need to training. I have also done some strength and pull up training at home. Will it be enough to help me to accomplishing my goal of completing the race below 45min? Only time will tell…

This entry was posted in Health and fitness and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to S.M.A.R.T. goals for weight loss

  1. I just wrote about the same thing. I have a post called smart goals to get ripped in three months. You might like it. I enjoyed yours.

Leave a Reply

