Live before you die

Look at the birds of the air: they neither sow nor reap nor gather into barns, and yet your heavenly Father feeds them. Are you not of more value than they? – Matt 6:26

15 And he said to them, “Take care, and be on your guard against all covetousness, for one’s life does not consist in the abundance of his possessions.” 16 And he told them a parable, saying, “The land of a rich man produced plentifully, 17 and he thought to himself, ‘What shall I do, for I have nowhere to store my crops?’ 18 And he said, ‘I will do this: I will tear down my barns and build larger ones, and there I will store all my grain and my goods. 19 And I will say to my soul, “Soul, you have ample goods laid up for many years; relax, eat, drink, be merry.”’ 20 But God said to him, ‘Fool! This night your soul is required of you, and the things you have prepared, whose will they be?’ 21 So is the one who lays up treasure for himself and is not rich toward God.” – Luke 12:15-21


Almost every Sunday, my parents and I would go out for a good meal. It’s a time that we set aside to spend time with one another as all of us are quite busy during the weekdays; I have work at school, while my mother have to work shifts. With my mother around, sometimes it is inevitable that she will nag at me or my dad.

Today, somehow the conversation caused my mother to nag at my dad. She told my dad how fortunate he is that at his old age, he need to worry about me and have all the good things in life even now that he can’t work; a big house, food on the table etc. She told my dad how silly he was in the past where he often get worried or anxious about everything, even things that have not happen/ will not happen!

She also recounted how one of our relatives tried to plan out everything in life and kept striving for material comforts and personal pride only to have all her plans thwarted when sudden sickness took her away.

Hearing what she said, I guess there’s some truth to it. How many of us try to plan for things ahead and get worried about the future but sometimes neglect the most important things in life? What good does it do if we strive to be richer everyday but yet do not have the life to enjoy those things that we strive for?

My dad jokingly recounted a conversation he saw over the internet:

A man told his son,” I am sorry I can’t spent so much time with you now as I need to go out to work so that I can put you in the best school that you will be successful.”

30 years later, the son told his father,” I am sorry I can’t spent so much time with you now as I need to go out to work so that I can put you in the best nursing home.”

Are we living our life for the future at the expense of the present and those we love around us? What will we lose in the end? What will you choose to do with your life today?

This entry was posted in Faith and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

