God works without our knowing

IMG_7023

I was brought up in a church background whereby there is a great emphasis in doing actual evangelism work. Back in the days of my youth, we were told and warned time and time again to be quick in the sharing of the gospel or else those that we know will face eternal condemnation. I remember vividly that in one of the youth services, a poem is shared to us. It is about a person who never knew the Lord blaming her current predicament in hell on her Christian friends who never shared the gospel to her. As such being a Christian teacher, it has been my greatest desire to share the gospel to my students and lead them to the saving grace of Christ.

I had a great opportunity to share the gospel to my graduated CCA students during last year’s Christmas period. During that time, the children ministry I am serving was preparing a Christmas programme for the children. It includes a trip to the old folk’s home where we will share the joy of Christmas with the elderly through some small activities (like simple exercises and crafts) and caroling. After which, the children will head back to Church whereby they will watch a gospel skit performed by the older children.

I knew it was the perfect opportunity to invite my graduated students to come and hear the good news! Without hesitation, I invited them to come join us for the Christmas programme. Eventually 2 of them agreed to come and they even brought a friend along! I was really excited!

The day came and the programme went on smoothly. My guests felt really at home and they were having lots of fun with the children and enjoyed the programme. However, as I was chatting with them, I found out that they have already received Christ about 2 years ago. At this moment, I felt a little bit disappointed but still really happy. It was all along my intention to invite them so that they may hear the gospel and receive Christ but it seems like God has went ahead of me.

As I talked more with them, I got to know that two of their friends invited them to their church back in secondary 2. They received Christ back then and are now in the same cell group.

Then about a month back, a Christian colleague of mine posted this picture:

jesus.png

A student wrote in one of our school’s mobile white board,” Jesus was here”

Another student saw it and wrote in reply, “He always is & will always be”

In the past, I always thought that if I do not share the gospel with the people I come across, they will never know about Christ. As such, I was always very forth coming in the sharing of the gospel. In the past, I even went over to MRT stations to share the gospel and get people’s contacts. Then, I will call these people up to do follow up with them, ensure that they are still interested about God etc.

This whole incident made me understood something. We are mere co-collaborators with God in His gospel work. God is already working in these people’s heart and when we are allowed to come in the minister to these people, it is God’s grace to us. During Young Adults fellowship, the speaker explained why this is grace to us…Why wold God allow lousy sinners like us to share the gospel when it was much more effective to either ask His angels to do it or do it Himself?

I remember one friend who used to joke with me saying that on Christ’s return, there will not be one name missing nor one name extra appearing in the book of life. I think I should be less concerned about the doing but be more in the praying (which I often neglect) that God will work in the hearts of the people in wherever I’m working because God is already working in the places where we are.

As it is written:
24 “The God who made the world and everything in it is the Lord of heaven and earth and does not live in temples built by human hands. 25 And he is not served by human hands, as if he needed anything. Rather, he himself gives everyone life and breath and everything else.  Acts 17:24-25

I need to remember that God holds everything and we are not.

So I would like to encourage all those who hope to see the people around them be saved, let’s start by praying that God will work in the hearts of these people and that we may join Him in the gospel work.

This entry was posted in Faith and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

