DAY 50: The Body weight Workout according to Reddit

If you want to look shredded, you don’t need to go to the gym. All you need to do is a set of chin up bars. Using your body weight, you can train yourself to do Superhuman feats like body flags etc. Body weight exercises has been gaining popularity these days due to Youtube stars like Barbrothers.(check out their channel!) The downside perhaps is that you won’t be able to grow extremely huge muscles like Arnold schwarzenegger. But heck! HUMAN FLAG!

I finally got the full body weight workout routine from LTA Benson and I followed it to the book today. Felt great! The whole workout took about 1 hour.
Warm up:

Reps Exercise Comments
5-10 wall extensions If extremely tight, here are a couple regressions for wall extensions.
5-10 band dislocates Take a wider grip to make it easier. More info here.
5-10 cat-camels
5-10 scapular shrugs
5-10 full body circles

 

Seconds Exercise Comments
10-60 Plank Alternative: Forearm Plank
10-60 Side Plank Alternative: Forearm Side Plank
10-60 Reverse Plank
10-60 Hollow Hold
10-60 Arch Hold

I was able to hold all of the positions for at least 60 sec. I found the side plank to be the toughest. Felt my obliques burning after the side planks.

Skill Work:

Min Exercise Comments
5-10 Handstand progression Supported handstand. Could only hold for 4min
2-3 Support practice Parallel bar support

Was supposed to do at least 5min of handstands but I totally gave up after abut 4min. My arms and shoulders were burning like mad. I could hardly hold for 1min. I had to rest a few times in between. Not wanting to strain and hurt myself, I stopped.

Support practice looks deceivingly simple but it isn’t. This is like one of the worst 2min of my life trying to hold my body up on the parallel bars.

Anyways, this skill work gave new challenges to my workout and I’m totally loving it.

Strength work:

Pair Reps Sets Exercise Comments, reps
1 10 3 Pullup progression Standard pull ups. 10, 8, 6
10 3 Dipping progression Parallel bar dips. 10, 8, 8
2 10 3 Squat Progression Step ups. 6, 8, 10
10 3 L-sit Progression Foot supported L-sit 30sec
3 10 3 Pushup progression Diamond push up. 10, 10, 10
10 3 Row Progression Wide rows. 10, 10 ,10

One of the most tiring bit of the workout. Limited to 90sec rest after each set, my muscles went into failure really quickly. But it was a good feeling, trying to push to finish the last rep. It is the last rep when you try to push near failure that counts.

I was able to do more step ups at each progressive set as I learnt how to control my balance with each set. Initially when I looked at the video, I thought step ups were easy. I was wrong. When done properly, it can be a very tough workout. I can’t even do one rep when I first tried it. Only manage to do them after figuring out my balance. It is a great workout for the legs and the butt!

Tiring workout. But it was fun!

This entry was posted in Health and fitness and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

