DAY 51: Bodyweight workout before Chinese New Year

It has been a tiring day today as Chinese New Year is round the corner. Like every good Chinese who loves his culture, during this period, I would be busy spring cleaning. It certainly doesn’t help when school ends late because I have to rehearse for a skit that will be performed for the students once the Chinese New Year holidays are over. (Hey! The students should be performing for the teachers instead!)

Anyways, I went to my fiancee’s house to help her clean up her room. It was quite tiring. So by the end of it, I was quite tired and it was quite late already and I was really tempted to just call it a night and not workout.

Then again, feeling that all my efforts will be wasted, furthermore, during Chinese New Year I am going to eat lots of foo. Instead of heading back home, I went to the fitness corner to do my Body weight Workout.

Warm up:

Seconds Exercise Comments
160 Plank Alternative: Forearm Plank
60 Side Plank Alternative: Forearm Side Plank
60 Reverse Plank
60 Hollow Hold
60 Arch Hold

Hollow hold felt a bit harder this time round. The other time I could hold it for a full minute. This time round I had to rest a while before continuing again.

Skills work:

Didn’t do the handstands and support practice as I was lazy this time round 😛

Strength work:

Pair Reps Sets Exercise Comments, reps
1 10 3 Pullup progression Standard pull ups. 10, 8, 6
10 3 Dipping progression Parallel bar dips. 10, 8, 8
2 10 3 Squat Progression Step ups. 6, 8, 10
10 3 L-sit Progression Foot supported L-sit 30sec
3 10 3 Pushup progression Diamond push up. 10, 10, 10
10 3 Row Progression Wide rows. 10, 10 ,10

The number of reps and sets I was able to do for the stregnth work was the same as before. One difference however was that I am stronger for me L-sits. I used to have difficulty holding the position for 30sec. Now I could hold it for a full 30sec! Progression!

By the end of the workout, I was perspiring heavily. I went home, tired…Looking forward to a nice bath.

This entry was posted in Health and fitness and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

