DAY 86: Solo workout- pushing through the limit

By now it is obvious that I have hit a plateau in my training. In the past year, my training has brought me from fat to fit. I have lost a lot of weight, gained a lot of strength and stamina. However, in the past few weeks, my training results has been staying the same. I have not been able to run faster or lift heavier. What’s wrong?

I reflected through my training program and realised that I have not been pushing myself enough. Every workout is so similar, with the same reps, sets and exercises and I have not been challenging myself to push harder. I decided that I need to push myself harder and make some adjustments to my lifestyle.

Diet


I used to be crazy about diet when I first started training . I was taking garcinia cambogia tablets and I didn’t want my supplement to go to waste just because I was greedy and ate more than I should. I swore off snacks, sweet drinks and even when I drank coffee, I opted for black coffee without sugar. I lost weight fast.

However, nowadays, I just let myself eat whatever I want. My greatest temptation is found in the office’s pantry. They stock up chocolate wafers (very yummy and very high calorie) there and anyone can just take them. Usually, I would eat at least 6 after I have eaten my lunch. This is one thing I really must avoid. I have stuck a post it note on my work desk just to remind myself not to eat those wafers! In addition, I have also swapped my morning 3 in 1 coffee with sugar-free green tea.

Exercise
The workout routine has been quite repetitive and I have not been doing cardiovascular exercises as much. I often give myself the excuse that I have exercised enough after I have completed my body weight workout. This have to change. I have added a 2.4km run after my body weight workout and in this run, instead of running at a steady pace, I am to do my best and sprint in the last 400m. After which, I need to force myself do 10 burpees with push ups immediately.

Today’s workout

Pair Reps Sets Exercise Comments, reps
1 10 3 Pullup progression Standard pull ups. 10, 10, 8
10 3 Dipping progression Parallel bar dips. 10, 10, 10
2 10 3 Squat Progression Squats. 10, 10, 10
3 L-sit Progression Parallel bar L-sit. 30, 30, 30 sec.
3 10 3 Pushup progression Pseudo Planche Push Ups. 10, 10, 10
10 3  Row Progression Wide rows. 10, 10 , 10

After the workout, I realised that it wasn’t that bad. I was afraid that I will be too tired for the run but I still managed to run at at OK timing. I was able to do the 10 burpees easily also even though my heart was beating very rapidly.

Seems like I have really under estimated myself all this while and I need to do more.

This entry was posted in Health and fitness and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

