DAY 89: Muay Thai- Knowing is not enough, we must apply!

I like to come to the gym early  as I don’t like to fight for the toilet cubicles at the gym to change into my attire. There’s only 3 cubicles there and the gym is very popular. So usually it will take a long while before it’s your turn to use the cubicles. Some times it eats into the training time because of the long wait and I don’t like that. After changing into my attire, I would usually go upstairs and take my time to put my hand wraps on. After which, I would work on the heavy bag a bit to practice my techniques.

Today, as usual I came early and started hitting the heavy bags. Darren was teaching the earlier class and I can’t help but eavesdrop.

Darren was teaching the class how to attack  with the jab and inside leg kick. One person is supposed to be the attacker while the other is supposed to defend. After the whole session, Darren explained that knowing how to throw a jab or an inside leg kick is not enough. Sometimes, students are too used to hitting the thai pads and don’t know how to apply it in a real fight. One has to know how to apply the technique in sparring also. It reminded me of a quote said by Bruce Lee, “Knowing is not enough, we must apply.” Indeed, we we get too used to hitting the pads and not hitting real people, the techniques we have learnt amounts to nothing.


After that, it was time for the next class and I joined in. Today, we focused on faking the jab into a front kick. We spent quite some time working on this technique on our partners before moving on to the combination.

Combination for the day: Fake jab into front leg front kick, roundhouse, cross, jab, vertical elbow, left elbow, shuffle back, tap block

The workout of the day

Round 1
Combination; 1 min slow to get used to the combination
Combination with full power; 2min
Conditioning drill; 50 punches, 50 elbows, 20 right roundhouse, 20 left roundhouse

1min rest

Round 2
Combination with full power; 2min
Conditioning drill; 50 punches, 50 elbows, 20 right roundhouse, 20 left roundhouse

1min rest

Round 3
Conditioning; 2, 4, 6, 8, 10, 8, 6, 4, 2 punches. 1 clap push up in between
2, 4, 6, 8, 10, 8, 6, 4, 2 elbows. 1 regular pus up in between

I think I went down on the floor too fast with my wrist for the push ups and have strained my wrist. It hurts and i couldn’t do the push ups.

I was drenched from head to toe after the session. It was hard but good training.

 

 

This entry was posted in Health and fitness and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

