DAY 139: Discipline!

Some days I find it very hard to find the motivation to workout and today is such a day. It seems like I say this during every start of the week. HAHAHHA!

Anyways, I had a long day. I went to school at 7am and only ended work at 6pm. I still have some projects to mark. On days like this, it seems OKAY to just slack a little bit, and cut some slack on myself. But experience has taught me that this kind of thinking leads you to the path of DESTRUCTION and REGRET.

Back in my youth when I was in Christian Youth fellowship, a verse stuck in my head for a very long time and I have not forgotten it.

“33 A little sleep, a little slumber,
    a little folding of the hands to rest—
34 and poverty will come on you like a thief
    and scarcity like an armed man.”

Proverbs 24:33-34 (NIV)

A had such an experience as described in the verse. When I first started exercising, I was running a lot. I was showing good progress in my fitness and I was losing TONS. Then, complacency started to creep in. I used to run for 50mins every other day. Then I contented with 45min. Then, I just told myself I just need to run 5km.

Then, I started to be less strict with my diet. “It’s okay! It’s just once!” I would tell myself. Then I would use the excuse again very quickly and assured myself that I was exercising regularly so I shouldn’t fret at what I was eating.

Eventually, I stopped running and just contented with lifting weights. My results became stagnant and at some point, I started gaining weight again. I panicked and realised that I need to be back on track again and start exercising more intensely and frequently.

Hence with much motivation and determination, I completed today’s exercise:

Reps Sets Exercise Comments, reps
1 10 5 Shoulder press 32kg. 10, 8, 8, 8, 8
2 10 5 Bent over row 32kg. 10, 10, 10, 10, 10
3 10 5 Weighted Pull ups 5kg. 10, 10, 10, 10, 10
4 10 5 Side lateral raise 9kg. 10, 10, 10, 10, 10

The sense of accomplishment from finishing today’s exercise is certainly better than having an double chocolate ice cream or lazing around on the bed!

This entry was posted in Health and fitness and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

