DAY 155: Shoulder exercises- fine tuning

So when I was back at TKD last week, I saw that my friend became crazily HUGE! He has been weight lifting and in the short 2-3months, his arms and shoulders grew in size! Similarly, I have been training for months. Why am I not seeing the same results? It seems that I have been doing shoulder presses wrongly. I have been doing shoulder presses by holding the bar shoulder width apart. What this does is that it places more stress on the triceps rather than the deltoids. He suggested that I try holding my barbell slightly wider and focus on my form – chest out, back in and push up to the top of my head. He also suggested that I try adding in dumbbell shoulder presses for my exercises as well and EAT MORE.

I didn’t eat more but I tried doing the shoulder presses with my arms slightly wider and adding in dumbbell shoulder presses. It is definitely hard to lift the barbell with the arms placed slightly wider than shoulder width. And the extra dumbbell presses gave me a good burn on my shoulders.

Reps Sets Exercise Comments, reps
1 10 5 Barbell shoulder press 32kg. 10, 10, 10, 10, 10
2 10 5 Bent over row 33.5kg. 10, 10, 10, 10, 10
3 10 5 Dumbbell shoulder press 10kg/side 10, 10, 10, 10, 10
4 10 5 Pull ups 10, 10, 10, 10, 10
This entry was posted in Health and fitness and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

