DAY 178: My first half marathon!

The day has come for my race and I am not in the best of shape. I have strained myself during my Taekwondo training and my hamstring feels very tight. And it didn’t help that I have not enough rest. I need to get to Esplande drive by 4:30am for my half marathon! Honestly, I don’t know if I could finish the race. I feel very ill prepared as the longest distance I have run so far was 14km and that was almost 2 months ago!

Undaunted, I woke up really early in the morning, had my breakfast and headed for my race.

IMG_9072

The venue was really packed but the atmosphere was tense. Everyone was getting ready for the race.

IMG_9078

5mins till the race starts! Here we go!

IMG_9087.JPG

Completed in 2:32! Honestly I am quite pleased with my results.

I started really slow in the beginning as it was so crowded. Tt was hard to speed up with so many people in the way. I slowly picked up pace at the 5km mark and was able to maintain my speed. At the 18km mark, my leg muscles were starting to cramp and I had to slow down and even stretch before I could carry on.

I am glad that I managed to complete the race. This is the longest distance I have ever run. I don’t think I am gonna do it again…hahah!

This entry was posted in Health and fitness and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to DAY 178: My first half marathon!

  1. Congratulations on completing your first half marathon. It must have been really hard!

Leave a Reply

