DAY 128: Back from Japan! Why are the Japanese so healthy?!

IMG_8295

We’re back from Japan! It was a fun holiday with lotsa good fun, food, scenery and beautiful memories with my fiancee.

One thing we realised when we were in Japan is that there were very few obese people around. Everyone else is either skinny or fit! Even the old people there are really fit and agile. They could get around quite efficiently without any walking aids.What is their secret? We found out very quickly when we go from place to place using the subway.

Whenever when you want to take a train, you need to either get underground or a few level above. And there are no escalators! Which means you have to walk up and down the stairs every time. The elevator is quite hard to find also so we usually resort to walking up and down the stairs like everyone else. And when you want to change to another subway line, it’s usually quite a distance. So the Japanese walk and climb the stairs a lot! It’s quite a workout for those who find it hard to find time.

Next, most of their food has very little fat and they use very little seasoning in their cooking so that you can taste each ingredients’ natural taste. Very healthy! Furthermore, when you try to get sugared drinks from the vending machines, they usually come in very tiny cans. So even though it’s not that healthy to take these drinks, you only get a little of it.

I weighed myself after lunch today and found that I lost 0.3kg from the trip even though I did not exercise and ate quite a lot when I was in Japan. Wow!

Anyway, it was so long that I last did my workout, I decided to do simple weight lifting today. My shoulders definitely got weaker as I am lifting a lot less. We can build that up slowly though.

Reps Sets Exercise Comments, reps
1 10 6 Shoulder press 31kg. 8, 8, 6, 4, 4, 2
2 10 5 Bent over row 31kg. 10, 10, 10, 10, 10
3 10 5 Weighted Pull ups 5kg. 10, 10, 10, 10, 10
4 10 5 Parallel bar dips 10, 10, 10, 10, 10
5 10 5 Wide rows 10, 10, 10, 10, 10
6 10 5 Diamond push ups 10, 10, 10, 10, 10
This entry was posted in Health and fitness and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment